Change Basic Class Settings

  1. Select the name of the class for which you would like to update the basic settings.

  2. Select Settings in the left sidebar.

  3. On the Basic Settings tab, you can adjust the desired settings for the selected class:

    - Class Name: You may change the name on your class by typing a new name into the box.
    - School Year: You may change the school year for your class by choosing a year from the drop-down menu.
    - Grading Period: You may change the grading period for your class by choosing a different grading period from the drop-down menu.
    - Grade Level: You may select the grade level for your class, using the drop-down menu. If you do not see a grade level that reflects the grade level for your class, you may choose "Other."
    - Subject Area: You may select the subject area for your class, using the drop-down menu. If you do not see a subject area that reflects the subject for your class, you may choose "Other."
    - Sort Students: You may select how your students display in your Gradebook.

    - Allow students to message teachers: Check the box to let students send Engrade messages to teachers from student accounts. If it is unchecked, students will not be able to send messages. Please note: If you have this option unchecked for one class, but not another class, a student in both classes will still be able to message you.
    - Allow students to post topics to the discussion board: Check the box to let students create topics on the "Discussions" page. If this box is unchecked, only the teacher will be able to create new posts to the "Discussions" page. Please note: Unchecking this box will not prevent students from responding to posts the teacher creates.
    - Allow students to message each other: Check the box to let students send other students messages through their Engrade student accounts. If this box is unchecked, students will not be able to message other students in the class. Please note: If you have this option unchecked for one class, but not another class, a student in both classes will still be able to message other students

  4. Click the Submit button to save your changes.